Snowy Day Wines #WineWednesday

As the temperatures are going down and the days are getting shorter, I am definitely turning to some more bold, spicy red wines. Besides, what else is there to do when it’s snowing outside but drink wine? Here is a list of some wine styles to keep you warm during the months of winter.

1. Argentenian Malbec. These Malbecs tend to be intense, high-tannin and high alcohol. Many feature spiced aromas (pepper, cocoa, etc) making them great to sip while snuggled up by the fireplace.

2. Cabernet Sauvignon. I struggled with which should be #1 – Malbecs or Cabernet Sauvignons on this list, so we’ll say they’re tied. I love Cabernet Sauvignons because they tend to be heavy weight with a bold flavour. For winter especially, I would choose a New World Cab (such as Napa Valley) because these regions tend to get a lot of sun and produce wines that feature bold flavours such as mocha.

3. Zinfandel. California Zinfandels *can be* among some of the heaviest, boldest styles of wine in the world. There are so many different styles of Zinfandel – ranging from white, rose, red, light, bold, etc. For the sake of this list, I am talking about the bold, rich, smoky, high-alcohol Zinfandels.

4. Nebbiolo. | Kevin Zraly said it best in Windows of The World, Complete Wine Course: “Two of the best DOCG Tuscan wines come from the villages of Barbaresco and Barolo. These “heavyweight” wines come from the Nebbiolo variety and have the fullest style and a high alcohol content.”

5. Mulled Wine. I feel like this is not a very common style of wine. I only tried my first mulled wine because of wine fest, and I described it as “Christmas in a glass”. The one I tried (and bought) is from an Albertan winery called Spirit Hills. (I wasn’t going to name specific wines, but in this case, it is the only one I have even tried. It makes me want to curl up in a cozy blanket and watch Christmas movies.

6. Champagne/Sparkling Wine. Of course, this is not a big, bold red like I said at the beginning – but Champagne had to be included! Champagne or Sparkling Wine are a must have for the holidays.

P.S. Obviously, this list is subjective. They are what I usually feel like having when it’s cold outside. As I write this, I am actually drinking a Tempranillo.

Love and wine,

Shylo

Published by Shylo

26. Writer & Wine Enthusiast.

Leave a comment